SA Touring Cars


Brad Liebenberg became the first GTC SupaCup champion this past weekend (November 6-7) when he beat rival Jeffrey Kruger by a single point at the season finale held at Zwartkops Raceway.

Saturday morning’s qualifying saw Liebenberg (Nathan’s Motorsport) take the Dunlop Pole Position after setting a time 0.004 seconds faster than that of his rival Kruger (Universal Racing) who controlled the pace for most of Friday. Saul Hack (Team Perfect Circle) headed up the second row ahead of Jonathan Mogotsi (Volkswagen Squadra Corse). Andre Bezuidenhout (Team Perfect Circle) qualified in fifth joined on the third row by Jason Campos (Campos Racing); a top-three regular in Friday’s practice sessions. Shaun Duminy (SMD Exotics) and Johan de Bruyn (OdorCure) shared the fourth row ahead of Paul Hill (Kalex Racing) and Manogh Maharaj (SMD Exotics); the latter having missed two of Friday’s practice sessions while travelling from Mozambique.

Race 1 saw a head-to-head battle between the front row starters with Mogotsi in tow. It was Kruger who won the race while setting the fastest lap to bring the margin down to five points between himself and race runner-up Liebenberg. Mogotsi dropped back from the pair and finished in third place while holding off Campos who made his way past the Team Perfect Circle pair in the early stages. Hack finished in fifth place while Bezuidenhout completed the top-six. Hill, who occupied sixth place early in the race, finished in seventh after holding off De Bruyn in the closing stages. An opening lap off-track excursion saw Duminy drop to the back of the pack, but he gained back one position to finish ahead of Maharaj.

Kruger made it back-to-back wins with fastest laps in Race 2 while Liebenberg again finished as runner-up. This saw the latter securing the title with just a one-point margin over Kruger. Hack completed the podium, closely pursued by Campos. Mogotsi’s fifth place was enough for him to finish third on the outright points table. Bezuidenhout completed the top-six while De Bruyn and Maharaj rounded out the finishers. An opening lap incident between Duminy and Hill eliminated both drivers from the race.

Outside the top-three on the leaderboard, Hack finished his season in fourth place ahead of teammate Bezuidenhout. Duminy completed the top-six.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.