SA Touring Cars


The inaugural Global Touring Cars SupaCup title will be decided between Brad Liebenberg and Jeffrey Kruger at the Zwartkops Raceway season finale this coming weekend (November 6-7).

A shortened season consisting of four rounds over three months sees Brad Liebenberg (Nathan’s Motorsport) and Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Racing) emerge as the two title contenders heading into the final round. This pair continued their battle which started in the 2019 Oettinger Polo Cup where it was Liebenberg who took the championship win on the same day that he took his GTC2 title.

Liebenberg tops the leaderboard with 157 points; eight clear of second-placed Kruger. He also heads up the statistics for race wins (5 vs 3), Dunlop Pole Positions (2 vs 1) and fastest laps (4 vs 3). Both drivers are equally motivated to take the title with Liebenberg aiming to make it two consecutive titles in the category, while Kruger is keen to claim another title for Universal Racing which took a one-two championship finish in this year’s Oettinger Polo Cup.

Further back, Jonathan Mogotsi (Volkswagen Squadra Corse) and Saul Hack (Team Perfect Circle) will be eager to take home the “best of the rest” bragging rights. Mogotsi has 118 points next to his name; three clear of Hack. This pair shared scoring third-place and fourth-place positions throughout the first eight races with Mogotsi recording a podium finish on five occasions. Both drivers will also be eager to finish their season by taking their maiden race victories.

The battle for fifth place will be contested between Shaun Duminy (SMD Exotics) and Andre Bezuidenhout (Team Perfect Circle). One point separates the pair with Duminy leading the way on 95 points. They have been heading up the midfield battles throughout 2020 and both will be eager to get the upper hand at Zwartkops Raceway. After missing the season opener, Johan de Bruyn (OdorCure) has accumulated 60 points and occupies seventh position. Round 3 also saw him being a firm contender in the midfield battle.

After missing Round 3, Manogh Maharaj (SMD Exotics) on 49 points and Jason Campos (Campos Racing) will return at Zwartkops Raceway. Campos’ father Rui substituted for him in Port Elizabeth where he accumulated 36 points. Paul Hill (Kalex Racing) with 31 points will also be eager to return to Zwatkops Raceway. The last time that he participated at the circuit in GTC2, he took his first race win.

Friday will see three practice sessions before Saturday’s qualifying session to determine the final Dunlop Pole Position of 2020. Both races will be contested over 12 laps and are scheduled to start at 12:56 and 16:30. Under Level 1 of the Risk-Adjusted Strategy for the easing of the national lockdown, spectators are prohibited from attending sporting events within South Africa.

Global Touring Cars would like to thank the following partners for making the 2020 season possible: Dunlop Tyres South Africa, SKF and Strata-g Labour Solutions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.